Goddard Appointed Co-Chair of Consumer Protection Committee

(Phoenix, Ariz. - June 24, 2005)  Attorney General Terry Goddard was appointed co-chair of the National Association of Attorneys General’s Consumer Protection Committee during the association’s recent summer meeting held in Montana.

Goddard will co-chair this committee with North Dakota Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem, and their focus for the year will include identity theft, cyber fraud, gas overcharges, and other scams.  Goddard was appointed by incoming NAAG president Indiana Attorney General Steve Carter.

During the week-long meeting, the attorneys general also addressed meth production.  The group adopted a resolution that:

  • Encourages states to develop a comprehensive strategy to combat the manufacture, trafficking and abuse of methamphetamine;
  • Encourages the federal government to increase efforts to stop cross-border smuggling of methamphetamine and the chemicals used in its manufacture; 
  • Encourages the U.S. Congress to enact federal legislation to combat the manufacture, trafficking and abuse of methamphetamine, while enabling states to respond to local circumstances; and 
  • Encourages the federal government to assist state, local and territorial law enforcement by providing additional resources to address issues related to methamphetamine.

The meeting was held in Big Sky, Montana from June 21-24.  More than 35 attorneys general attended the meeting to discuss key legal issues involving antitrust, consumer protection, criminal law, gang violence, pharmaceutical pricing, prescription drug abuse, sexually violent predators, homeland security and technology.

The National Association of Attorneys General was founded in 1907 to help state attorneys general fulfill the responsibilities of their offices.  NAAG fosters interstate cooperation on legal and law enforcement issues, and conducts policy research and analysis of issues.  Goddard became a member of this association after being elected in 2002.