Arizona Attorney General

Mark Brnovich

Translate   

 

Filing a Consumer Fraud Complaint

This office enforces the ARIZONA CONSUMER FRAUD ACT (A.R.S. §44-1521 et seq.) and other state and federal consumer protection laws. We investigate complaints involving deceptive or unfair practices which occur in connection with the sale or advertisement of goods or services. 

If you feel you have been the victim of or are aware of consumer fraud, file a consumer complaint using one of the following methods:.

Office of the Attorney General, Consumer Information and Complaints
1275 W Washington St
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2928

Office of the Attorney General, Consumer Information and Complaints
400 W. Congress, South
Building, Suite 315
Tucson, AZ 85701-1367

  • Call Consumer Information and Complaints for help:

(602) 542-5763 in Phoenix
(520) 628-6504 in Tucson
(800) 352-8431 outside metro Phoenix


  • Make a separate list of the things you want to say and separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order in which they happened, using dates whenever possible. 
  • Remember that your complaint should describe the event or practice which was misleading to you and why. 
  • If completing a downloaded copy of the form, print legibly. 
  • Enclose copies of contracts, letters, advertisements, sales slips, proof of payment, warranties, papers or other documents that may support your complaint. KEEP THE ORIGINALS FOR YOUR FILES. 
  • Once your complaint is received, we will send you a letter of acknowledgement with the status of your complaint. 
  • Your complaint will be reviewed for possible violations of the Arizona Consumer Fraud Act to determine if the business or individual has engaged in unlawful activity within our jurisdiction. 
  • With your permission, we will contact the company or individual named in your complaint for their response. 
  • Complaints and investigations with the Office are confidential and cannot be disclosed to the general public. 
  • We are prohibited by law from giving you legal advice, legal opinions or acting as your private attorney, since our role is to represent the State. 
  • If you with to consult a private attorney, you can locate one by contacting the Lawyer Referral Service, or using the State Bar of Arizona website. 
  • If your claim is less than $10,000, you may be able to file a suit in Justice Court. The Small Claims Court handles claims that do not exceed $2,500.