

### ARIZONA STATE TREASURER

#### KIMBERLY YEE TREASURER



January 2, 2024

Honorable Kris Mayes Honorable Joshua Bendor Arizona Attorney General Office 2005 N. Central Avenue Phoenix, Arizona 85004

**RE:** Response to Governor Hobbs' Request for Attorney General Opinion for the Arizona Citizens Clean Elections Commissioner Appointments

Dear Attorney General Mayes and Solicitor General Bendor:

After reviewing Governor Hobb's December 22, 2023, letter and the subsequent communications with your office on December 28, 2023, I thought it important to briefly follow-up and ensure the issues before you are precisely tailored to the issues at hand.

<u>First</u>, I agree that an Attorney General Opinion regarding appointments to the Arizona Citizens Clean Elections Commission (the "Commission") would be beneficial to both of our offices. However, I reserve the right to seek judicial relief to ultimately resolve the issue.

Second, I also agree that we should make all five appointments now, but give credit to the time served to ensure consistency in terms. To that end, two statutes appear to be the most relevant. Specifically, A.R.S. § 16-955(D) requires "the governor and the highest-ranking official holding a statewide office who is not a member of the same political party as the governor shall alternate filling . . . vacancies." The statute also provides that these appointments would begin with the governor in the year 2000. Section 16-955(I) further prohibits commissioners from serving more than one term.

While § 16-955 is silent as to the applicable procedure when a commissioner's term expires but a replacement is not nominated, this void is filled by A.R.S. § 38-295(B). Under this statute, "[e]very officer shall continue to discharge the duties of the office, although the term has expired, until a successor has qualified." Thus, when § 16-955 is read together with § 38-295(B), newly appointed commissioners in this circumstance do not receive full five-year terms, but only fill the remaining terms of commissioners whose terms have expired.



### ARIZONA STATE TREASURER

## THE PRESENT OF THE PR

#### **KIMBERLY YEE**

TREASURER

Third, the only real interpretation disagreement is related to when the alternating appointments should occur. Governor Hobbs presents that appointments should alternate based on gubernatorial and non-gubernatorial officeholders. In support of her position, she cites A.R.S. § 16-955(D). However, based on (1) the original appointment structure in § 16-955(C), (2) the intent of the statue, and (3) the history of previous appointments, appointments should instead be consistently made based upon alternating political parties. Hence, in 2000, the governor (a Republican) had the first opportunity to fill a vacancy. To illustrate this point, the following chart illustrates the appointment structure of prior commissioners:

#2	Commissioner	Party	Nominator	Term	Term End
				Began	
1.	David G. McKay	Republican	Gov. Hull (R)	2000	2005
2.	Kathleen S. Detrick	Independent	AG Napolitano (D)	2001	2006
3.	Ermila Jolley	Democrat	Gov. Hull (R)	2002	2007
4.	Marcia Busching	Democrat	Gov Napolitano (D)	2003	2008
5.	Tracey A. Bardorff	Republican	SOS Brewer (R)	2004	2005
	Carl J. Kunasek	Republican	SOS Brewer (R)	2005	2007
	(replacement)				
	Donald Lindholm	Independent	SOS Brewer (R)	2007	2009
	(replacement)				
6.	Gary Scaramazzo	Independent	Gov. Napolitano (D)	2005	2010
7.	Clark Dierks	Republican	SOS Brewer (R)	2006	2006
	Royann J. Parker	Republican	SOS Brewer (R)	2006	2011
	(replacement)				
8.	Jeffrey L. Fairman	Democrat	Gov. Napolitano (D)	2007	2012
9.	Lori S. Daniels	Republican	SOS Brewer (R)	2008	2013
10.	Louis Hoffman	Democrat	AG Goddard (D)	2009	2014
11.	Timothy J. Reckart	Republican	Gov. Brewer (R)	2010	2015

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> A.R.S. 16-955(D) specifically provides that "[o]ne commissioner shall be appointed for a five-year term beginning February 1 of every year beginning with the year of 2000. Before February 1 of each year beginning in the year 2000, the governor and the highest-ranking official holding a statewide office who is not a member of the same political party as the governor shall alternate filling such vacancies. The vacancy in the year 2000 shall be filled by the governor."

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Because the first five Commissioner selections had a specific process set forth in statute that differed from that set forth in A.R.S. § 16-955(D), those commissioners are not included in the chart.



### ARIZONA STATE TREASURER

# THE TREE OF THE STATE OF THE ST

#### **KIMBERLY YEE**

TREASURER

12.	Thomas J. Koester	Independent	Corp. Comm. Newman (D)	2011	2016
13.	Jeffrey L. Fairman (holdover)	Democrat	110 (1110)	2012	2013
	Mitchell C. Laird	Republican	Gov. Brewer (R)	2013	2017
14.	Steve M. Titla	Democrat	Sen. Taylor (D)	2013	2018
15.	Damien R. Meyer	Democrat	Gov. Brewer (R)	2014	2019
16.	Mark Kimble	Independent	Sen. Hobbs (D)	2015	2020
17.	Galen D. Paton	Republican	Gov. Ducey (R)	2016	2021
18.	Amy B. Chan	Republican	Sen. Hobbs (D)	2017	2022
19.	Steven M. Titla (holdover)	Democrat	Republican should pick	2018	2023
20.	Damien R. Meyer (holdover)	Democrat	Democrat should pick	2019	2024
21.	Mark Kimble (holdover)	Independent	Republican should pick	2020	2025
22.	Galen D. Paton (holdover)	Republican	Democrat should pick	2021	2026
23.	Amy B. Chan (holdover)	Republican	Republican should pick	2022	2027
24.	Steven M. Titla (holdover)	Democrat	Democrat should pick	2023	2028
25.	Damien R. Meyer (holdover)	Democrat	Republican should pick	2024	2029

As you can see, the history of the Commission selection process proceeded based upon alternating political parties, not gubernatorial and non-gubernatorial officeholders. In other words, after Governor Hull filled the first vacancy in 2000, the appointments alternated based on the *political party* of the respective officeholders. In the absence of clear procedures, this approach is most consistent with the intent of the statute, as it would be illogical to have the same political party select a commissioner twice in a row simply because the governor's party changed between appointments; thus, making the "alternating" requirement superfluous and provide an advantage to one party over the other.

Based on the above, I should have the opportunity to fill Mark Kimble's (2020–2025), Amy B. Chan's (2022–2027), and Damien R. Meyer's (2024–2029) seats and Governor Hobbs will have the right to fill Damien R. Meyer's (2019–2024), Galen D. Paton's (2021–2026), and Steven M. Titla's (2023–2028) seats.



## $\begin{array}{c} \text{Office of the} \\ Arizona \ State \ Treasurer \end{array}$

#### KIMBERLY YEE TREASURER



We appreciate your consideration of this issue and look forward to receiving an Attorney General Opinion pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-193(A)(7).

Sincerely,

The Honorable Kimberly Yee

Treasurer of Arizona