

### OFFICE OF THE ARIZONA STATE TREASURER

## **KIMBERLY YEE**





December 20, 2023

The Honorable Katie Hobbs Governor, State of Arizona 1700 W. Washington Street Phoenix, Arizona 85007

RE: Arizona Citizens Clean Elections Commissioner Appointments

#### Dear Governor Hobbs:

The Arizona Citizens Clean Elections Commission (the "Commission") is non-partisan and is comprised of five members: two Republicans, two Democrats, and one Independent. To ensure the Commission maintains its non-partisan mission, the Citizens Clean Elections Act requires each member to serve no more than one five-year term. Commissioners are not eligible for reappointment.

Because the five-year term for all Commissioners has passed,<sup>2</sup> all five appointed positions are now de facto vacant and must be filled. As a matter of procedure, A.R.S. § 16-955(D) requires the political parties to alternate in making these appointment selections—meaning that, with you having made the most recent appointment in 2017 during your tenure as the Senate Minority Leader, I am now entitled to appoint three out of the next five selections as the highest-ranking Republican elected official in Arizona.

Rather than going back and forth, which would needlessly delay the process, I propose that we independently appoint all of our respective selections before the February 1, 2024, deadline. This appears to be the best way to utilize our time while remaining compliant with the statute's intent. I will appoint two Republicans and one Independent, leaving you with the appointment of two Democrats. My first appointment will be former State Senator Linda Gray, who resides in Yavapai County, to replace current commissioner Amy Chan. In the next five-year cycle that begins in 2029, the highest-ranking Democrat elected official will have three selections.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> A.R.S. § 16-955(I)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> (1) Steven M. Titla – January 2018 (Democrat) (Appointed by Democratic Senator Landrum Taylor in 2013),

<sup>(2)</sup> Damien R. Meyer January 2019 (Democrat) (Appointment by Republican Governor Jan Brewer in 2014),

<sup>(3)</sup> Mark Kimble – July 2020 (Independent) (Appointed by Democratic Senator Katie Hobbs in 2015),

<sup>(4)</sup> Galen D. Patron - January 2022 (Republican) (Appointed by Republican Douglas Ducey in 2017), and

<sup>(5)</sup> Amy B. Chan – January 2022 (Republican) (Appointed by Democratic Senator Katie Hobbs in 2017).



# ARIZONA STATE TREASURER

## **KIMBERLY YEE**





If you wish to discuss this matter further, I am available through my office to schedule a meeting.

Sincerely,

The Honorable Kimberly Yee

Treasurer of Arizona