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Question Presented 

As amended by 2005 Ariz.Sess.Laws, Ch. 126, Arizona Revised Statute (“A.R.S.”) § 20-

284(A) requires insurance producer license applicants to take their license examinations within 

the 120-day period before filing their applications.  You have asked whether this new 

requirement applies to applicants who took their examinations before the amendment’s effective 

date but filed their applications after the law became effective.  

Summary Answer 

Section 20-284, A.R.S., as amended by 2005 Ariz.Sess.Laws, Ch. 126, applies only to 

examinations administered after the effective date of the Act.  Therefore, an applicant who took 

the examination before the effective date of the Act, August 12, 2005, but filed the application 

after that date, is not subject to the 120-day requirement of A.R.S. § 20-284(A). 

 



 2

Background 

A resident applying for an insurance producer license must pass an examination that tests 

his or her knowledge of the duties and responsibilities of an insurance producer, the insurance 

laws of this state, and the lines of authority for which the application is made.  See A.R.S. § 20-

284(A).  Before 2005, the law did not require the applicant to take the insurance producer license 

examination within any specified time period before filing the application.  In 2005, however, 

the Legislature amended A.R.S. § 20-284(A) to require that applicants pass the examination 

within 120 days before filing the application.  See 2005 Ariz.Sess.Laws, Ch. 126, § 1.  The 

amendment also provides an extension of the 120-day period for an individual called into active 

military service and limits the number of times an individual can take the license examination 

within a twelve-month period.  See 2005 Ariz.Sess.Laws, Ch. 126, § 1.  Finally, 2005 

Ariz.Sess.Laws, Ch. 126, § 3 provides:  “Section 20-284, Arizona Revised Statutes, as amended 

by this act, applies only for examinations that are administered from and after the effective date 

of this act.”  (Emphasis added.)  The amended law became effective on August 12, 2005. 

Analysis  

 The cardinal rule of statutory construction is to ascertain and give effect to the intent of 

the Legislature.  See Mail Boxes, etc., U.S.A. v. Indus. Comm’n of Ariz., 181 Ariz. 119, 121, 888 

P.2d 777, 779 (1995).  If the statutory language is clear and unambiguous, it is conclusive unless 

the Legislature clearly expresses an intent to the contrary or absurd consequences would result.  

See Bustos v. W.M. Grace Dev., 192 Ariz. 396, 398, 966 P.2d 1000, 1002 (App. 1997). 

The language of Section 3 of 2005 Ariz.Sess.Laws, Ch. 126, is unambiguous.  It clearly 

states that the amendments to A.R.S. § 20-284 in that Act apply only to examinations 

administered from and after the effective date of the Act.  This language plainly exempts all 
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examinations taken prior to the effective date from the new regulatory requirements.  Thus, the 

law leaves applicants who passed their examinations before August 12, 2005, in the same 

position they would have been had the statute never been amended.  

The language of Section 3 expressly applies to all amendments to A.R.S. §20-284, 

including the amendments to subsection A.  Section 3 and other portions of Chapter 126 include 

no language that supports applying the 120-day requirement to examinations administered before 

the effective date of the legislation.  Furthermore, if the Legislature had intended the 120-day 

period in subsection A to apply to examinations taken before August 12, 2005, Section 3 could 

have stated that A.R.S. § 20-284 applies to applications filed after the Act’s effective date.  As it 

is, 2005 Ariz.Sess.Laws, Ch. 126, does not evidence an intent to exclude any part of A.R.S. § 20-

284 from the provisions of the grandfather clause in Section 3.  To the contrary, the Legislature’s 

use of a separate section to limit the amendment’s scope underscores its intent to apply the 

language in Section 3 to all provisions of the Act.  The Legislation imposes the new regulatory 

requirements on examinations administered after the effective date of the amended Act. 

This analysis is consistent with the statute’s legislative history.  The fact sheet on the bill 

prepared by Senate staff for the Senate Finance Committee states that the bill “[a]pplies the 

provisions of the bill only to those examinations administered after the general effective date.”  

Senate Research Staff, Fact Sheet on H.B. 2189, 47th Leg., 1st Reg. Sess., at 2 (March 8, 2005).  

The wording of this fact sheet, which does not reference any exceptions to the grandfather 

clause, confirms that Section 3 governs all sections of the amended statute.    

According to testimony concerning the Legislation, the 120-day period is intended to 

ensure that people who obtain licenses have current knowledge of the relevant issues. Hearing 

on H.B. 2189 Before the H. Comm. on Financial Institutions and Insurance, 47th Leg., 1st Reg. 
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Sess. (January 24, 2005).  Arguably, exempting those who took the test before the Act’s effective 

date from the 120-day requirement does not further that purpose.  But that policy argument 

cannot override the clear language of Section 3.  Applying the plain language of the statute does 

not lead to an absurd result, but simply leaves applicants who took the examination before the 

effective date of the Act in the same position they would have been had the law not been passed.     

Conclusion 

The language of 2005 Ariz.Sess.Laws, Ch. 126, is clear and unambiguous.  The 

provisions of A.R.S § 20-284, as amended, apply only to examinations administered after the 

effective date of the Act.  Examinations taken before that date are exempt from the new 

regulatory requirements imposed by 2005 Ariz.Sess.Laws, Ch. 126, even if the application is 

filed after August 12, 2005.   
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