Arizona Attorney General

Mark Brnovich



Attorney General Tom Horne to Host Arizona Peace Officers Memorial Service in 40th Year

Phoenix, AZ (Monday, May 6, 2013) – Attorney General Tom Horne, along with Governor Jan Brewer and statewide leaders will gather to honor fallen officers at this year’s Arizona Peace Officers Memorial Service. Fallen officers to be honored at this year’s ceremony are Deputy Sheriff David Wargo of the Maricopa County Sheriff's Office and Agent Nicholas Ivie, United States Border Patrol and Customs. This is the 40th year of the memorial service.

“Each year the Arizona Peace Officers Memorial Board recognizes those officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice, their lives,” said Attorney General Tom Horne. “The service allows current and past years survivors a time to join together to honor their fallen heroes.”

The evening begins with a dinner for the surviving family, friends and colleagues of the 308 fallen officers spanning more than 150 years of service in Arizona. Following the dinner, the survivors will begin a procession to Wesley Bolin Plaza, and the program will begin at 7:30 PM. 

The program includes a motor procession, presentation of colors and invocation. Welcoming remarks will be given by Arizona Department of Public Safety President Sergeant John Ortolano, followed by Keynote Speakers Governor Jan Brewer and Attorney General Tom Horne. The program also includes a roll call of heroes, reading of historical names, rifle salute, and helicopter fly over.

For more information, please visit