Arizona Attorney General

Mark Brnovich

Translate   

 

Additional Tips For Used Cars

Most of the issues already discussed apply to used cars as well as new cars.

If you buy from a dealer, request a free vehicle history report on a used car.

Have a trusted mechanic inspect the used vehicle before you buy. This may cost around $100 or more, but could save you money in the long run.

Check the vehicle's history. Instead of taking the salesperson's word about the history and condition of the vehicle, get a vehicle-history report from CarFax or Experian Automotive. Although these services are not fail-safe, they can alert you to possible odometer fraud; past flood, fire and accident damage; or whether a rebuilt or salvage title was ever issued for the vehicle. 

Used cars in Arizona are sold with an implied warranty of merchantability that applies to every used car sale (although a specific defect may not be covered if it is spelled out in writing). This law is found at A.R.S. § 44-1267.  The implied warranty lasts fifteen days or 500 miles, whichever comes first.  The dealer must be given two opportunities to repair the vehicle, before a consumer can seek a refund.